Quantcast

OVER PAYING HELP

I just recently lost 2 techs and I'm in the process of looking to replace them. The problem is there is way more jobs then there is workers, and it is causing all the employers to pay outrageous hourly wages here. For example one of my employees daughter made  $16.00 an hour to watch cheese go by on a conveyer belt this past summer.  Now I have done some research with 3 other of my companies locations with in an hour away from me and its seems they are paying about $6.00 an hour less then where I need to be according to what my competition is paying here in town. 

Is there anybody else out there that is seeing this in other areas and how in the heck do I explain this to my main office?

1. I wish that was the case here.. It seems that in the automotive industry here there are far more "self proclaimed mechanics" which really hurt the good ones.. Also shops don't seem to care who they hire if you are able to utter the words I am a mechanic, you are hired.. sad state of affairs . Until regulation and laws are put into place here nothing is going to change. Yes you need a license to cut hair or do any other job, but mechanic the license is a simple phrase " I am a mechanic " .
  • Like 3

On 2017-04-14 at 7:56 PM, carolinahigear said:

If you charge top dollar for your work and parts then you can pay top dollar to your personnel!

Hi-Gear

At the risk of high-jacking this topic I'll comment on this. But employee pay and shop rates are definitely related.

As long as your customers are willing to pay top prices... in some towns/cities there are not enough of those customers to support a first class 'white glove' shop. I have seen first class shops fail because there weren't enough customers who wanted, or could afford, that level of service and pricing.