Quantcast

looking for advice

I am a ASE certified master tech with my L1, master emission repair license , and state inspection license. I have worked at a Branded gas station for the last 24 years, I am looking for information on how to get started in my own shop. I wanted some input on how to do this if to get a service station or a repair shop . Also a realistic view of what it would cost to get started . If anyone could steer me in the right direction I would be appreciated . Besides obtaining a shop my other worry would be finding good Mechanics, I am a person that believes the work has to be done top notch , I can't stand people that guess or throw parts at cars nor people that gouge or rip customers off like selling 4 oxygen sensors on a car. Never happens, it is like buying 4 tv's at the same time what are the chances that all 4 die at once? anyway any help would be appreciated.

thanks,

S.M.

Move to western NY and work for me. You nailed the biggest problem in shop ownership - finding people that can repair cars and customers as well as yourself.

Sign up for some professional help on doing a business plan, that will enable you to answer all your own questions about regulations, advertising, supply/demand, cash flow, feasabilty, and so on but like I said all that stuff is pretty easy compared to finding excellent people to work for you.

• Like 1

Where are you located?

So like Joe said, the plan will be extremely important and here's how you do it. How much do you want to make/year? The average you the business will take home is 25% of whatever your business brings in. Now do the math and divide it all up and see how many hours you need to bill/week.

Are you planning on having employees right off the bat? Renting or buying a shop? We need to know more of your plans to give you any real startup costs.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by phynny

The cost is COMMITMENT! The rest is Organization. You will need these things below for starters.