Quantcast

Ideas on how to stay positive in a negative world

I'm throwing this out there to help those shop owners who are taking a beating. What do you guys do to remain positive? Recently we've had a couple backyarders open up undercutting every legit shop around, and customers are believing the magic promise of something for nothing. Others are going on a long trip in 15 minutes and want a full checkup for piece of mind, but no money. Then there's the guy who's inspection ran out 3 weeks ago about the same time his windshield broke and the steel came out of the tire, yet now he has an emergency at 5:45 on Friday because we won't give him a sticker. 

Its really starting to be difficult to just grin and bear it. Maybe I'll take up drinking. 

Drinking helps haha. After reading all your replies tonight, it's a lot of wisdom I wish I had and it's apparent that you've been in this business for a long time. I'm relatively new in this business so my advice is mute but I sincerely hope all the best for you my friend. From the quality and honesty your business exhibits through the reflections of your posts, your customers will stick with you. 

I've got a story about everyone of those situations.  It's not the answer, but it sure makes a person feel better about it all when they know they're not alone in this crazy mixed up world of auto repair. 

Read a few "Gonzo's Toolbox" stories.  If nothing else, you'll feel a whole lot better after reading them. 

• Like 1

Our business is a thanksless job, in over 25 years I have probably received two or three calls from different customers to tell me thank you for fixing their car. If anything, and you receive a call after the customer picks up the car is for them to tell you that you didn't fix the car. You know the dreaded feeling...