Quantcast

Setting up shop

Hey guys, this is my first post and it will not be my last.

I know that I am opening up a can of worms, but I am hoping to get some good advise, so take it easy on me.

I am working on opening up my shop, I have been scouting some locations and I have a meeting tomorrow with the land owner on what I think will be a good location.

I was hoping to get some advise on how I should start up my new business. I have a lot of automotive experience, mainly in dealerships and a Pepboys here and there but I haven't been in the industry for some time, but my love of cars, and that fact I have a lot of family in the business still, I have always been around it.

As I am looking to open up in the next moth or so as long as everything goes well.

I have been trying to read as much as I can on what I need and should do to be successful, but I wanted to get some of your advise, from people who have been there and done that.

Thanks in advance,

hey fixit -

welcome and good luck - having gone through this not too long ago - i can say - your probably very exited - DONT let your excitement get in the way of making smart business decisions- it is too easy to jump on something out of fear of waiting too long so you dont loose it - but at the same time - just when you jump on a good deal or a good property something better comes along - i was so excited about every property i looked at i wanted it- thinking back on the ones i passed by - im GREATFULL my partner had the restraint to say "no" to them. now we have a great building at a great rate- once you get the building - start telling everyone you know your opening a shop and to keep your name out there to everyone they know - talk about it to everyone you have a chance to. word of mouth is one of the best and cheapest forms of advertising you can get.