Quantcast

Start LLC for $0 at IncFile

Considering buying a shop

First of all, hello to everyone. I just found this site and am glad I did. It has answered many questions, and of course, created new ones. I'd like to hear some feedback on my plans. Any input or advice is greatly appreciated.

I'm a management consultant, an entrepreneur, and have 20 years experience in technology and business strategy. I have a masters degree as well. As a result of all of this...I AM BURNED OUT! Make great money, but can't see myself doing it beyond 5 more years. I'm mechanically inclined (used to build and race cars). I'm considering buying a small auto repair shop as an investment. My plan is to be an "absentee owner", but handle all of the business sides of things (accounting, marketing, etc). This means I will depend on a shop manager to run the day-to-day shop operations.

My biggest concern is having the right people. Frankly, this scares the hell out of me. In my current job I have many smart and educated people working for me......yet I can't depend on them.

Is the thought of doing what I'm describing nuts? I have no desire to want to work "in" the business. In fact, I can't because I have a 50 hour per week job already. Is it realistic to find a dependable shop manager that can run things without me? What do I need to look for? How do you find, hire, and retain these guys?

I appreciate any advice you have.

Thanks,

Scott

Scott: Welcome to AutoShopOwner, glad you found us.

I admire your business spirit. Being an absentee owner can be tough for a small shop. I have been in business for 30+ years and just recently have built my company large enough and productive enough to have some sort of flexibility; in other words I don't have to be here all the time.

With that said, my shop still needs the leadership and vision from me, the owner. I am not saying it cannot be done, but you really need the RIGHT people and the very best mananger.