Quantcast

Migrating from Bay-master to Other SMS

I've been running Baymaster for 25 years, but it seems I"m going to have to make a move.  We want to bring digital inspections on line, along with all the photo reporting and easy customer contact that goes with it.  I don't think Baymaster is going to come out with anything in the near future, so I'm contemplating changing my management software.  Has anyone had experience migrating from Baymaster to say Autovitals or Bolton?

Jim

• Alex changed the title to Migrating from Bay-master to Other SMS

Migrating from anything can be a headache, the best approach to take is to evaluate what you presently do, very thoroughly.

Start with:

How many machines are used with the program?

How many employees?

Do they require logins?

Expand to:

What are the things you do daily that you take for granted? This is a hard one that requires a team effort to answer accurately.

For instance:  You clearly check in a vehicle and check one out every day, at the least.  What's involved in that?

How does your new system handle that?

Who has to learn what to perform their role?

Other than working through the questions up there, the easiest way to learn a new system is to do the following:

Plan on using both systems for +/- 120 days in unison.  What does this mean.  Well the first 30 days, focus doing things as you normally do, but at the end of each day, enter the customers that you serviced that day in the new system, along with their vehicles.  Notice anything different?  Anything you need to adjust to? Anything that has to change your train of thought?

Run that for 30 days or as long as everyone is comfortable doing it.  My suggestion is to allow all of your employees to perform these basic tasks to get everyone used to the new interface.

Next 30 days, time to recreate invoices for the next batch of services.  Rinse and repeat the steps above.