Quantcast

jamesCA

Start auto shop for non-mechanic owner

I am wondering if any owners out there are not mechanic and doing well. Any pro and con? Any training I should get?

I do have some some basic auto knowledge, work in it and have other business knowledge like customer service, computer operation, basic maintenance etc.

I am thinking of opening up a small shop in So CA. I believe with the current economic, more folks will keep their old cars. My mechanic that I goes are very busy and expanding. He said you don't have to be mechanic to be successful..maybe I can use him as a coach as he is a master mechanic too. Some of his challenges come from dealing with difficult customers who try to blame him for problematic item(s) that he didn't repair or touch.

Thanks

I am a none mechanic owner. It can be done but there is a fairly steep learning curve. The hardest part is without a background in this industry it is hard to evaluate who is a good candidate to hire as a technician and who is not. Most people you will interview will talk a better game then they are able to deliver. You will have to find someone you can trust and lean on them until you learn the ropes. It probably took me a good 8 years to become half way decent as a manager.

I am wondering if any owners out there are not mechanic and doing well. Any pro and con? Any training I should get?

I do have some some basic auto knowledge, work in it and have other business knowledge like customer service, computer operation, basic maintenance etc.

I am thinking of opening up a small shop in So CA. I believe with the current economic, more folks will keep their old cars. My mechanic that I goes are very busy and expanding. He said you don't have to be mechanic to be successful..maybe I can use him as a coach as he is a master mechanic too. Some of his challenges come from dealing with difficult customers who try to blame him for problematic item(s) that he didn't repair or touch.

Thanks