Quantcast

GI Think I'm a Mechanic = Did I chose the right career for me?

Gonzo

GI Think I'm a Mechanic ---- A job, a life, a career

After high school I made the choice to join the Marine Corps. It was a big step for a young guy who really didn't have a direction, nor thought about the future. So, off I went to boot camp. I'll admit it was tough, it was physically demanding and very mentally challenging. But, I did very well, got a lot of good marks and even a couple of special awards. One of the biggest surprises was when my platoon was on the

"mess and maintenance" week. I was assigned to the commandant's headquarters building. I was to shine all the brass, wax the floors, and general building maintenance. One day the Sargent in charge said it was time to mow the grass. He sent me and two other recruits out with scissors to clip the lawn in front of the headquarters building. Really, I'm not kidding…scissors, and I'm not talking about a large pair of scissors, no… more like your typical size for any home office or school desk. Well, being the bright, eager young lad I was I had to ask.

"Sargent, ever hear of a lawnmower before?"

Not that I was being smart and all… it just struck me dumb they wouldn't have a lawnmower to do this job. But, then again, why not get a couple of young recruits to clip the lawn with scissors… we'll work cheap.

"Come here soldier, see what ya think of this," he said.

In a hall closet just inside the building there were four mowers stacked up on top of each other. They all seemed to be the same brand of mower, but all of them seemed to have been taken apart and there were lots of parts missing.

"Well, can we use them Sarge?" I asked.

"Those things haven't ran since I've been here, but if you think you can get one of them going, it would make us all look good," the Sargent answered.