Quantcast

shortage of good techs

skm

I have been a Tech for a very long time, I have noticed that techs of a good caliber are getting less and less, Who or what do we really have to blame for this? Schooling costs, Laziness, Lack of drive? I think all of this has a part in it, but about a year and a half ago I was looking to buy an new Scanner. I talked with and sampled all the top tool dealers products. What I noticed about most of them especially Snap on is that is seems everything links to a website that will help you with your diagnostics, so what are we really paying for the diagnostic equipment or the "support" that comes with it? I think these things are doing our techs a disservice you can not fix the car over the phone or through a website. You need hands on and to know what you are looking at, if you can do that you can fix cars at a much faster pace.

Needless to say I went with a much cheaper Scanner that does just great, all I need is a Data Stream, some bidirectional communications, and the ability to write some things to the computer . So why pay all the money ??

Needless to say I went with a much cheaper Scanner that does just great, all I need is a Data Stream, some bidirectional communications, and the ability to write some things to the computer . So why pay all the money ??

This one is a pretty easy answer for me. We use Identifix at our shop, which is (more or less) what the Snap-On scanners have built into them. A lot of older guys laugh at Identifix; however, for me it is all a statistics game, and Identifix helps you win that game. I'll give you an example:

Let's say you have a normal car with a lean code come in. You could start old school with it ... smoke the engine, spray some propane around the intake boots, scope the MAF and/or O2 sensors, check the PCV for cracks, etc etc...